1990 CE2 Digifant 8v not starting

Discussion in '8-valve' started by Gti1990xyz, Apr 16, 2024.

1. Gti1990xyz Paid Member Paid Member

Hi Tristan,

Thanks. I have this week tried three different TCI-h ignition amplifier, one was new from Heritage.

Rubjonny has queried if the rev counter jiggled during this breakdown and two years ago when it last broke down so I'm afraid I dropped the ball on that one, I'm no car mechanic!!! I tied myself in noughts with troubleshooting with what I had to hand.

Bad grounds is a good shout I guess.

I will see if the Coil and TCI-h is getting 12 volts during cranking, if not, I guess I could just run a wire to battery positive. I did notice the black 15 12 volt wire on coil had a nic in the wire near plug, perhaps water has got into the copper strands and turned it green so I could also link direct from coil to TCI-h to replace that link, it could be enough to make a voltage drop on that wire under load, I did confirm that there is 12 volts at TCI with ignition on but the circuit would not be sucking amps at that time.

Thanks.

2. stephen stanyer Forum Member

Can't see the ignition switch being the problem all that does is energize the starter motor. I could be wrong though.

3. rubjonny

rubjonny Administrator Staff Member Admin

sometimes the ignition switch fail in such a way you get ignition live to coil with ignition on but it drops out while cranking, easy way to rule that out is run a live wire from the battery direct to the spare spade on the coil and see if it then sparks while cranking

4. Gti1990xyz Paid Member Paid Member

Hi Jonny,

thanks for the info. Today I confirmed the Black 15 circuit is supplying 12volts at IGN ON and Cranking.

I tried the new ignition switch, same.

I tried to power ECU permanently by bypassing relay 30-87.

Fuel pump primes as it should, stops, then runs during cranking.