Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: Air - Fuel Ratio Gauge

  1. #1
    Paid Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Midlands
    Posts
    822
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts

    Default Air - Fuel Ratio Gauge

    Hi guys


    looking to get a AF gauge for the mk2. which one are you running at the moment?

    is it possible to choose betwen narrow and wide band?

    ideally id like to keep the exisiting lamda...is it possible to run a feed of that for the gauge?
    ive seen one thread from time ago but many say import them from the U.S, was wondering anything worth looking for in the uk?

    Car is running standard Audi Management Engine is AGU 1.8t

    any links, pics or info would be great!
    Vw Bora TDi PD130 Reflex Silver - Work Horse
    MK2 Golf GTi 20vt - Oak Green - The Sleeping Beast
    Mk5 Golf GTi Edition 30 - Tornado Red - Thirsty B!*$^

  2. #2
    Paid Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,427
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 301 Times in 230 Posts

    Default

    luminition afr004. will run in parallel (I think...). make sure you wire it as per the instruction. power and signal ov are seperate

  3. #3
    Paid Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lao People’s Dem. Rep.
    Posts
    1,056
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

  4. #4
    Forum User
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Wrexham
    Posts
    325
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

    Default

    I've got a duostlying afr gauge for my mk2 agu but I haven't put my engine back in yet!

  5. #5
    Forum Junkie tshirt2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Herts
    Posts
    5,130
    Thanks
    481
    Thanked 329 Times in 250 Posts

    Default

    Innovate lc1.

  6. #6
    Paid Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,427
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 301 Times in 230 Posts

    Default

    Tried the LC1 also, prefer the luminition

  7. #7
    Forum Junkie tshirt2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Herts
    Posts
    5,130
    Thanks
    481
    Thanked 329 Times in 250 Posts

    Default

    The luminition isn't as good as the proper wideband kits.

    It can only really be used as a guide.

  8. #8
    Paid Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,427
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 301 Times in 230 Posts

    Default

    That is certainly what everyone on the internet says. But the AFR004 is less than 1/2 the price... Also the LC1 has minimal damping (fast response..) , so making trends hard to see while driving. My cordoba rallycar has an lc1, my gtir rally and mk1 sprint car have AFR004 . IMHO

  9. #9
    Forum Junkie tshirt2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Herts
    Posts
    5,130
    Thanks
    481
    Thanked 329 Times in 250 Posts

    Default

    You can adjust the damping in the settings. You want a fast response if you are trying to adjust the map. If its just a rough guide to see where in the range you are then fine.

    You can also datalog with log works or in my case MS. If you want to know a figure ( number) that's not going to give you a clue.

    It was discussed here a while back. It depends what the OP is using it for. I would steer clear for my purposes as I want to know the exact AFR at any given time.

  10. #10
    Forum User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    im using an aem eugo on my 1.8t audi using an agu ecu and using just 1 sensor which simulates the narrow band, you just connect the right wire from the gauge to the (off the top of my head, so will check) violet wire on the lambda plug and had no issues at all in the last 2 years, running t28 turbo and bigger injectors etc.
    ive also got an lc1 but the car its fitted too has never moved in about 5 year so cant comment on it just yet

  11. #11
    Paid Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Midlands
    Posts
    822
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts

    Default

    i suppose its beneficial i get the same info thats going to the ecu. im not really looking to fine tune it and i suppose whoever maps the car can check AFR via vagcom for actual figures and tune fuel delivery themselves?

    my power output is no where near yours sam. if it can handle yours ok then my K03S and standard injectors should be ok
    Vw Bora TDi PD130 Reflex Silver - Work Horse
    MK2 Golf GTi 20vt - Oak Green - The Sleeping Beast
    Mk5 Golf GTi Edition 30 - Tornado Red - Thirsty B!*$^

  12. #12
    Forum User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Swindon
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts

    Default

    I've got an NGK AFX wideband. I haven't tried it yet mind...

    http://www.bmotorsports.com/shop/pro...roducts_id/357

  13. #13
    Dudboy
    Guest

    Default

    benefits of running one of these?

  14. #14
    Forum User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I'm running a liquid TT in my MK2 1.8t, It sits in the drivers air vent.

    Much more than just an AFR gauge.

    You find a picture in the link.

    http://www.pistonheads.com/classifie...e-turbo/953078

  15. #15
    Forum Junkie Mike_H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    iQuit
    Posts
    19,736
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon P View Post
    benefits of running one of these?
    You mean general benefits of running an AFR gauge? Finding out if your engine is running too lean, before you melt it.

    Doesn't tell you if one cylinder is too lean, but at least it gives you a chance.
    Megasquirt for the win!! Long Johns for the Win-(ter Mechanic!)

  16. #16
    Paid Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Midlands
    Posts
    822
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts

    Default

    thanks for the input everyone.

    i was looking at G60Luke's digi dash which keeps an eye on everything but ive got VDO's for temp, boost, pressure volts so dont really need it now. And yeah its just to keep an eye on the engine going lean. I dont think ill ever push the engine so its starved of fuel.

    the only problem i have now is, all the ones ive seen are standalone and require there own lambda plugged into the down pipe. Qpeng down pipe for k03/s only has the one output. And i pressume i cant splice into the exisiting narrowband lamda?
    Vw Bora TDi PD130 Reflex Silver - Work Horse
    MK2 Golf GTi 20vt - Oak Green - The Sleeping Beast
    Mk5 Golf GTi Edition 30 - Tornado Red - Thirsty B!*$^

  17. #17
    Paid Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,427
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 301 Times in 230 Posts

    Default

    All my raally cars have extra bosses welded in (£4 from fuelparts) but you can (i believe) run two systems from one signal (as its a voltage..) Must try it oneday

  18. #18
    Forum User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Nope, you can't splice into the narrow sensor.

    I use to run a AEM AFR in a previous car, worked well

  19. #19
    Paid Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Midlands
    Posts
    822
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts

    Default

    yeh its just the hastle of getting the down pipe off the car to do that...took forever to get it on in the cold and rain. AEM seems to be the one.. going price is around 150?
    Vw Bora TDi PD130 Reflex Silver - Work Horse
    MK2 Golf GTi 20vt - Oak Green - The Sleeping Beast
    Mk5 Golf GTi Edition 30 - Tornado Red - Thirsty B!*$^

  20. #20
    Paid Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,427
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 301 Times in 230 Posts

    Default

    Ive just done one on the car, not ideal, but heh? interesting comment about not being able to drive more than one input.

  21. #21
    Paid Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Midlands
    Posts
    822
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts

    Default

    if i was to do that Jon..is it the actual lambda that is wideband/narrow or is it just the ecu that detects only the extremes ie Rich/Lean as opposed to Extremely Rich or Moderately Rich conditions.

    If all lamda sensors as the same then a wideband gauge would just pick up condtions based on a series of different voltages as opposed to a narrowband sensor which would just pick up 0volts (Lean) or 5volts (rich) as an example?
    Vw Bora TDi PD130 Reflex Silver - Work Horse
    MK2 Golf GTi 20vt - Oak Green - The Sleeping Beast
    Mk5 Golf GTi Edition 30 - Tornado Red - Thirsty B!*$^

  22. #22
    Forum User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    sunny hampshire
    Posts
    148
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Bump up this thread as in process of doing mine, fancied the zietronix zt2 which does afr and egr but budget wont stretch that far so going for the aem wide band as mine runs me7.5ecu, just wondering how they mount? As getting downpipe made will have 2 bosses as have the 2 lambda however I know u can map out rear one so........... can I use boss 1 for lambda1 and boss2 for aem afr is it that straight forward then I presume powering up gauge

  23. #23
    Forum Junkie tshirt2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Herts
    Posts
    5,130
    Thanks
    481
    Thanked 329 Times in 250 Posts

    Default

    Yes. A lot of people mount them close to the turbo but innovate one I have, recommend fitting at least a metre away on turbo cars as they shouldn't be seeing temps over 500 deg. Otherwise you can damage the sensor.

  24. #24
    Paid Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,427
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 301 Times in 230 Posts

    Default

    A wideband sensor and narrowband sensor produce different outputs. There is lots of tech info out there..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •