Brentacre Insurance
Page 1 of 17 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: My Off-RED 1.8 20vT MK2 - Time for the 02j swap - We Have A Gearbox.

Thanks

Default My Off-RED 1.8 20vT MK2 - Time for the 02j swap - We Have A Gearbox.

Hello,
    I'm mainly doing this so I can look back at it and see how far it's come, or not come! I suppose you guys can have a look too!

Yesterday I picked up my first Mk2 Golf, 1.8 Driver needing a lot of work, purchased from someone on here. I'm treating it as a project to get it back to it's former glory, but it's going to take me a while!

I'm a novice when it comes to cars, I've obviously got an idea of how they work etc and i'm not bothered about getting my hands dirty. I'm going to be doing all the work myself to get it back on the road, then sorting the cosmetic stuff later, I just want to start driving her and i love the sleeper look

The previous owner done quite a lot of work on the car, it's been converted to 5 stud, fully poly-bushed Mk3 Wide-track set-up. Which i've been told is a good thing. It's already got some lovely cheap coilovers on there, which will do for the time being, but i hate the ride of my polo on cheap coilovers so they won't be on there long, hopefully pick up a semi decent set second hand. Loads of other things too with a stack of receipts, which I left with in Oxfordshire, but they should be on their way to me this week.

My plans with the car are to get it on the road, hopefully by the end of October. With now being back at college studying HnD Aeronautical Engineering and working 35 hours a week, I only get one full day off a week, and evenings. But with it getting dark early now the evenings it's not going to be ideal.