Suspension / wheel advice

Discussion in 'Mk2' started by Paul steadman, Sep 13, 2019.

1. Paul steadman Paid Member Paid Member

Hi , a complete novice needs some advice re suspension and wheels , recently purchased 1990 mk2 gti , suspension all round needs replacing and currently has crap alloys on it 14’s , I don’t know what to do to improve looks and handling , I know I want to put BBS alloys on it but do I put standard dampers and springs with maybe some 15’s alloys or lower it a tad with 14s’s ? What do standard suspension sit at and what would people recommend to lower to or don’t lower just fill the arch with bigger wheels , any advice most appreciated , thanks in advance

2. Tristan

Tristan Paid Member Paid Member

Bilstein b4 with -30 Eibachs on mine. 15 inch wheels (g60 steels or BBS RAs) , 195 50 15s. Handles great , doesn't rub, I can still go over speed bumps and very bad roads comfortably , yet take on track at trackdays.

Also the slight drop makes them look a bit nicer, without looking "slammed".

That said, I'd sacrifice some comfort next time for firmer dampers up front.

Paul steadman likes this.
  3. Sirguydo

Sirguydo Fastest milkman in the West Paid Member

Personally I like originality :thumbup:
    For road use 15” and standard suspension looks fine go for a 20mm drop if you want minimal arch gap but still have decent comfort.
    Adjustable shocks add a bit if you want to spice up your pace now and again .
    Get some reasonable rubber not budget tyres it’ll help with the grip .

My thoughts others will offer alternatives :thumbup:

Paul steadman likes this.
  4. costel1969

costel1969 Paid Member Paid Member

I agree with Sirguydo - the GTI I bought has coilovers and granted it may be related to my age but the ride is horrible and it's getting binned for a standard 16v set-up (approx. 10mm lower than the 8v)

Paul steadman and Sirguydo like this.
  5. Paul steadman Paid Member Paid Member