1.8 16v KR very flat on power/sluggish

Discussion in '16-valve' started by HypnoMk2, Jul 3, 2022.

1. HypnoMk2 New Member

Hi peeps!

I have a 1990 Mk2 Golf with 1.8 16v KR swap. I’ve been driving it for close to 2 years now, and i’ve always had performance problems with it from the get go that still haven’t been resolved.

Problems:

• Car wil not go above 188km/h on GPS, struggles to get up to that speed (very slow) and hits a wall at 5000rpm and will not really pass that at full throttle on the highway, will very slowly creep up on that if I baby the throttle.
    • Very flat performance for a 16v.. Feels like i’m driving an 8v or lower at times, feels slow for a 16v.
    • Will pick up better if I gradually increase the throttle in stead of going flat out/foot to the floor, it really does not like that.
    • Used to run on the hot side, untill I switched out the WUR for another (untested) unit I had laying around, now it suddenly runs cooler? And gets better gas mileage. (Used to sit a bit over middle at highway speeds (with wind) and would creep up very fast if there was no driving wind (would go to 3/4ths pretty quickly in busy traffic/or when idling) after the WUR swap it sits a little below middle on the gauge if driving on the highway and middle in normal traffic and creeps up a little bit past that if idling/no direct cooling, but doesn’t hit 3/4ths anymore on the temp gauge.
    • Hard cold start/long crank (I’ve found the issue to be the 5th injector not injecting fuel when it should at all, no power going to the injector on cold crank) Haven’t checked why
    • The heater on the WUR (plug on side of WUR) Isn’t giving any power either..