ABF Head Gasket

Discussion in '16-valve' started by Nick Guilbert, Dec 31, 2020.

1. Nick Guilbert New Member

Hi,

I'm losing coolant, and overheating in my 2.0ltr 16v mk3 ABF. So I'm guessing the head gasket needs doing. I'm on about 115,000 so I think it's ready for it.

I've started, and whilst I'm not a mechanic, I've got a vague idea and have done head gaskets on SOHC in the past.

My first question is, do I have to undo the lamba sensor? it looks like a pain and looks like it is rusted in. I reckon I'll ruin both the sensor and the exhaust.

Thanks!
    Nick

Last edited: Jan 7, 2021
  2. rubjonny

rubjonny Administrator Staff Member Admin

the head gaskets dont routinely go on these, 115k is nothing for a relatively well maintained abf. so HG would be the last thing on my list of suspects. more likely to be a leaky front or side flange, thermostat housing, pinholed hose, core plug, matrix etc so double, double check.

if you can get a good look down the cylinder holes a good clue if its the gasket is a very clean cylinder, or if left overnight coolant in the bore. theres the obvious white smoke out the back also, pressurised hoses etc. if it was leaking into the oil you would soon know about it as the oil on the dipstick will turn to mayonaise

doing HG on these is no worse than an 8v engine, same basic procedure. dont have to remove the lambda split the manifold off the head. if you did want to pull mainfold and downpipe out you can unplug the lambda near the rear engine mount then it'll come out still in place. once off the car good time to attack it as well ;)

Nick Guilbert likes this.
  3. Nick Guilbert New Member

Hi rubjonny,