ABF on twin 45's cams

Discussion in '16-valve' started by richie K, May 14, 2014.

1. richie K Forum Member

hi all.

My track mk2 has an ABF with twin 45 webers. Its currently running KR cams (according to the bloke I bought it off). Though it may only be the exhaust cam.
    The head has been ported, flowed, triple angle valve seats.

However, I did expect it to rev more than it does. it seems to run out of puff around 6500.

Would different cams help here. I must admit I am a leccy by trade so all the mechanical stuff is a bit over my head.

I know i will probably need a full RR setup to adjust fuelling etc. Just after some advice if anyone has any ideas.

Thanks

Richie K

2. Jon Olds Forum Junkie

carb chokes need to be big enough. I wouldn't run less than 36mm
    Jon

3. richie K Forum Member

The carbs were set up professionally for the ABF engine (so i was told), so I have to assume they are optimised.
    I'm struggling to find anywhere near me that can do Webers and have a rolling road.

4. mr hillclimber Club GTI Supporter and Sponsor

Never assume Richie...even some professionals can't set up carbs properly.

As Jon said...first off check the choke size...36mm is std issue in 45's tho they could have been changed. What inlet manifold is it on...short with a poor bend in it or long and straight?...if the manifold drops down from the carbs to the head it's a poor flow type which won't be helping.

Does it have filters?....if so and they're sock type take them off and throw em away...they're total junk and get sucked against the trumpets under load, the pores close up and the engine gets starved of air and goes mega rich..such a great invention sock filters.

If normal filters are fitted make sure they're clean.