ABF swap into a 1990 Jetta TX

Discussion in '16-valve' started by juli0s, Jul 30, 2009.

1. juli0s Forum Member

Hi all,

I've been working on my Jetta ABF conversion for a few months now. Things are going well so far. I'm just about to start on the wiring and so i'm going to need some help!

some back ground first;

Donor car : 1990 Jetta Tx. 1600 carburettor model. Manual

The original engine and gearbox have been removed and binned.

I've installed a 2.0 16v ABF engine, along with with an 02A gearbox from a TDI. The cable change gear shifter has also been installed.

I'm sticking with the manual steering rack so the power steering pump has been binned.

No air con.

The engine is sitting on new G60 mounts. Its nice and firmly seated and moves very little when grappled. I have the original exhaust header feeding into a decat pipe and then standard Jetta 16v exhaust.

(one minor issue is that the bonnet wont shut - it fouls the throttle body - not too concerned about this at the moment though....)

To cut to the chase, I've just purchased a wiring loom, ECU, immobiliser unit and key from ebay. (The original engine came without this stuff)

The loom is pretty massive and seems to inlcude lots of stuff not related to the engine.

Basically i want to strip it back to the bare essentials, just enough to have the engine running properly.

I suppose what i need is a detailed wiring diagram and perhaps any other useful advice anyone can offer.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

cheers

Last edited: Jan 13, 2010
  2. mk1tt16v Forum Member

3. rubjonny

rubjonny Administrator Staff Member Admin

4. juli0s Forum Member

excellent. Thank you.

Looks like i'll need to do some homework before getting stuck in......

5. rubjonny

tip for you, as you unwrap the loom put a bit of tape every foot or so, to retain the looms shape. memories of being surrounded by spaghetti are flooding back to me :lol:

6. juli0s Forum Member

Hi all,

a bit of an update and some more questions..