ABF to Bike Carb Loom

Discussion in '16-valve' started by 2spicyy, Jan 16, 2021.

1. 2spicyy New Member

Hi all,
    My mk2 was originally a 1.3 and I put an ABF in it running Kawasaki ZX10 carbs. Without having to add any other wiring I was able to get it started and running acceptably ok with very advanced timing for about 6 months. Obviously this isn’t a great thing to do to the engine and I wanted it to be much smoother anyway so I bought 16V KR ECU with the loom. I’m having plenty of issues to get it going now honestly but the main question on here is how have people got around the throttle switch as my engine with the carb conversion doesn’t have anywhere to plug this into? Hopefully I can get the solution on here and I might be able to get it to start. I’ve got many more questions to come too!!

2. BISSONE Forum Member

I’m by no means an expert as I haven’t done it myself bug I would assume you were only going to need the ignition side of the KR management I.e. the ignition module, coil and wiring and probably the KR distributor and not the other basic ECU it has?

3. 2spicyy New Member

We’re using the other basic ECU in place of the one I had for the 1.3 as I believe they were both the same. The reason I’ve upgraded the loom is due to not having any electronic timing

4. rubjonny

rubjonny Administrator Staff Member Admin

yeah you either use the kr ecu and loom, or fit some kind of vacuum/weights advance dizzy, or aftermarket ignition ecu. the usual ones are 1.9 pug dizzy, saab etc

5. 2spicyy New Member

Thanks! I’m using the KR loom and ECU. What do I do with the throttle switch as there’s obviously nowhere to plug it in on the carbs?

6. rubjonny

just ignore it, most dont bother with the vacuum line to ecu either but can try with and without see how you go

7. 2spicyy New Member