Audi door handles on a mk1 golf

Discussion in 'Styling, Trim and Bodywork' started by Intraclast, Jan 8, 2006.

1. Intraclast New Member

Heya,

I am currently planning my mk1 project
    and am looking into the possibility of putting audi door handles (the
    80 or 100 ones that sit flush to the door panel) on. I have
    looked at the relevant threads here and they have helped.

I was wondering if anyone can point me towards any howto's about this or give me details on how to do it (pic's would be great! [:D]). If I decide to do this I would like to do it myself so I need to know whats involved.

If anyone can help that would be great.

Thanks! :)

2. beekeeper Forum Member

I put some in my mk1 caddy and am currently putting some in the mk2.

The procedure is the same and i'm taking pics this time round so will post them when done.

I do this for a living but its really not that difficult.

3. Admin Guest

thats a bloody sweet caddy!!!

andyceb is putting those handles on his mk1, worth a look/pm to him

4. AndyCEB Forum Junkie

[:^(] [:^(] [:^(] [:^(]

I just wrote a huge long post and lost it!

Will write it again later! [8(] :lol:

5. Intraclast New Member

Cheers guys, looking forward to the details!:)

6. Intraclast New Member

bump[:$]

any chance of that post you lost Andy?

thanks

7. AndyCEB Forum Junkie

[:$] Opps sorry mate, completely slipped my mind! Here you go...

Right the way I look at it there is three main points to installing these handles, placement, fitting and the linkages.

Firstly the placement, where you actually decide to mount the handle on the door, this is especially important on the Mk1 because if it is slightly too high etc it will not fit or the window will not roll down [:s]

I fitted mine exactly where the golf handle was,
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

This does work if not a little tight to install so maybe a few mm lower might be an idea?

The dimentions of mine are: