Greetings from an Audi 90 20v owner

Discussion in 'Say 'hello' in here.' started by Gadbury, Dec 28, 2022.

1. Gadbury New Member

Hi folks. Hope you all had a good Christmas.

Thought I'd say hi as I'm a newbie.
    VWs and Audis have been in the family for years. I own two cars, both of which I've owned long-term.

1) 2003 VW mk4 Golf V5
    2) 1991 Audi 90 20v

A bit more about the Audi, which I think is far more interesting (!) and an understated, forgotten gem...

Although first registered in 1991, it was manufactured early 1990 so came with the factory fitted stainless steel tubular exhaust manifold. Bonkers.

I bought the car back in 2000 and will never let this one go! She was off the road for some years. Started feeling a few issues and became a bit unreliable (didn't know how to fix some issues) so got the Golf as cheap substitute. This year, due to available time and the realisation that this car is way too good to let deteriorate further, I rolled up my sleeves, got the manuals + tools out and with brilliant advice from the good people at the Classic Audi forums, I eventually got the car back on the road. What a feeling!

Externally, it's cosmetically tatty (and that's something I hope to address eventually) but I've been concentrating on getting it MOT'd, feeling nice to drive, use and live with.

Anyway, while Googling for info on the car, I noticed a few postings originating here so thought I'd sign up and say hello. Best wishes,

James

[​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 28, 2022
    Adamss24 and Dave like this.
  2. Dave

Dave *Very Smart* Pedantic Old Fart Paid Member

Flipping heck James.
    Nice to see you on here!

Without doubt the 90 Q 20V is the very best car VAG ever built.
    Performance Car magazine tested a used one, back in the day, and stated: If Porsche made a 4 door car this would be it!
    It could even be the 4th best car ever built after the SAAB 96, the SAAB 99 and the Porsche 911.