Hello everyone

Discussion in 'Say 'hello' in here.' started by Cullislay, Feb 4, 2020.

1. Cullislay New Member

Hello, I'm a mechanic currently working on a mk1 caddy project now fitted with a ABF on twin 40's. I found my way here trying to figure out the ignition. Prepare yourselves for silly questions that have been asked a million times!

2. rubjonny

rubjonny Administrator Staff Member Admin

hello and welcome, lots of choices for this. from easy drop on kr ecu and loom, or find a vacuum/weights advance dizzy from 1.9 pug gti or old saab/volvo, to fully mappable ignition controller, to skip carbs and go throttle bodies with full management ;)

3. Cullislay New Member

Hi rubjonny, I've been reading lots of post from you on the subject but still can quite get my head round it. We have the "little black box" ignition unit but no wiring diagrams with the same colour wires, and the two plugs ( I assume one for distributor and one for could pack) don't fit the ABF parts.

4. rubjonny

you may have a carb/kjet 8v ignition loom, which wont work.

this is the kr loom you need:
    [​IMG]

1 - Earth to battery -ve
    2 - KR ign controller plug
    3 - TCI-H plug
    4 - Black - KR ign controller & TCI-H ign live - terminal 15 side of coil
    5 - Green - Coil trigger - terminal 1 side of coil
    \- red/black - spade is for the isv control unit, the main wire is the rev counter feed
    6 - Brown - Earth to cylinder head
    7 - Blue/white - Temp sensor feed (use one of the 3 on the side of the head)
    8 - Dizzy plug
    9 - red/yellow - Fuel pump relay earth trigger
    |- black/yellow - idle switch feed (12v feed with throttle shut)
    \- black/white - ignition live for ECU (only on Corrado ECU loom)

5. rubjonny

oh and you need a kr or 9a distributor if you go this route

6. Cullislay New Member

I apologise for my noob ways! cant get the picture to link properly.

[​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 5, 2020
  7. rubjonny

ok got it!