Lurker's first post... '74 Golf with ABF - and no idea...

Discussion in 'Say 'hello' in here.' started by Mik Wid, Oct 15, 2019.

1. Mik Wid New Member

Good evening folks. After lurking for years thought I'd introduce myself.
    I'm a long time dyed-in-the-wool VW fan. Will drive nothing that's not German. Had Golfs for ever and still haven't attained the car I dreamt of at 17... but nearly there. I apologise in advance for long post and naive questions.

I am currently on with building a mk1 fun car. I bought an ABF and some 40 DHLAs but on inspection the ABF is scrap. Oil not changed in years and exhaust cam starved and has goosed head. Big ends scored and crank damaged so not a lot to salvage. this being the case I could either source another motor, which could be similarly abused, or build a stroker using the block. Presuming it's okay.
    I'm an architect and not a mechanic but I've got mucky finger nails and have a bit of knowledge and friends with more. I'll be building the motor in my shed with advice/criticism from those in the know and learning as I go. I've trawled Vortex, this forum, etc and whist there's a lot of knowledgeable folk (rubjonny, hotgolf etc) I am finding it difficult to sort the truth from the nonsense and the folk who advise with the best will in the world but don't really know what they're on about - and I don't know enough to decipher what's right and wrong.

So Far I have decided on:
    Ported and polished KR head (because I have one)
    Cat 279/279 cams (because I have them)
    3-angle valves/ seats and possible waisted inlet valves?
    ABF standard followers (do some use mk5 followers?)
    ABF block
    ABF rods or replacements 159mm H beams if I really should?
    95.5mm crank (because I have one somewhere)
    83.5mm rebore
    40 DHLAs with TPS (because I have them and I don't want bodies just yet)
    NoDiz pro ignition and VR6 crank position sensor.