Mk4 golf diesel ALH conversion to 1.8 20v turbo

Discussion in 'Mk4' started by Martin G, Oct 25, 2021.

1. Martin G New Member

Hi all new to this forum. Have had my mk4 tdi for a while now. Has the usual tdi stuck/sticking turbo veins. Car mechanic by trade. The mechanical side of things would be no issue for me. Its more the wiring side if I was to do this conversion. Would the original tdi throttle pedal and wiring work with a 20v? Would all the wiring loom connecters to the car/to the engine be the same? I know I will/ more than likely have to run wires for the fuel pump in the tank. The ecu will need unlocking for the immobilizer. Is there major wiring differences between petrol and diesel? Some people would say just sell my tdi and buy a 20v but I have had this car for a while and would rather keep mine. More the amount of £££ and the amount of time I have in it. Any help would be appreciated.

2. dodgy

dodgy Paid Member Paid Member

https://www.clubgti.com/forums/inde...install-faq-now-with-added-dieselness.267196/
    Have a look at that, see if cross reference petrol to diesel bits. But I'm sure that @rubjonny is the genius to answer this fully.
    Is the lift pump in the mk4 tdi in the tank and so possible there is wiring there? Can't remember if there is a fuel cooler under the car on them which wouldneed removing so new fuel line, I was converting a caddy to pd130 about 6 years ago so my memory is a little hazy regarding some bits (albeit the other way).

3. rubjonny

rubjonny Administrator Staff Member Admin