Pierburg 2e3 possible choke problem?

Discussion in 'Carburettor' started by tapehead_01, Aug 21, 2016.

1. tapehead_01 New Member

Hi, I'm completely new to this and this is my first project so please bear with me. I have a Mk2 Golf 1.3 with a Pierburg 2e3 and have been having experiencing a number of problems with it. The car is hard to start without pushing the accelerator, then I have to keep pushing it for a few secs to stop the car stalling. It idles pretty rough and when driving the car will intermittently stall if I let off the accelerator (e.g. stopping at junctions), or if not it will idle very low (about 600rpm).

I've checked for vacuum/air leaks around the carb and the inlet manifold and replaced all cracked hoses and the fuel filter so I doubt this is the problem. Had a look at the carb while the engine was running and the automatic choke valve is permanently in the fully open position. I can move it a bit but it's quite stiff (and to be honest I don't want to force anything) however sometimes after a drive it will sit about half closed. The engine also seems to run pretty rich and smells of petrol (though there are no fuel leaks). Bottom line is I doubt it's behaving properly. The carb has been "cleaned out" with carb cleaner (though it doesn't seem to have done much) and the previous owner replaced quite a few of the gaskets on it, but that's about all that's been done to it.

What could be causing the choke to do this? Bearing in mind I don't really want to have to completely disassemble the entire carburettor unless I have to in case I make everything worse, what would be the best thing to check first?

Thanks.

2. rubjonny

rubjonny Administrator Staff Member Admin

bear in mind im no expert on the 2e3, the 2e2 is more my area :lol: