Rolling road/dizzy woes

Discussion in '8-valve' started by ts295, Aug 7, 2004.

1. ts295 New Member

Had my mk1 2l 8v (piper cam, flowed head, 3A bottom end) on the rolling road at TSR yesterday and it gave a disappointing 122 bhp.
    TSR said that it had a carb dizzy not an injection dizzy which wasnt advancing enough. So.....
    this morning gave the stealers a buzz and checked the dizzy part no. and my dizzy, part no. 026905205H is a 1983 GTI effort, which should be fine. Gave TSR a buzz, and they suggested making sure the rotor arm was advancing and springing back and to add a little oil to make sure it was ok. Checked all that and its all fine.
    Anyone have any suggestions as to anything else i can check regarding the incorrect dizzy behaviour? Its a good 15 horsepower down on expected power and feels pretty slow, but the power delivery is smooth. Was wondering what the three wires going into the dizzy do. I'm not very experienced with dizzies, and quite clueless as what the wires are doing as i thought the advance etc was all mechanical.
    Cheers in advance for any help

2. Edward62 Forum Member

Only thing I can think of is that someone may have messed with the advance springs/mechanism. I would disconnect the vac advance pipe (and plug it) then run the engine at different speeds and check the advance with a strobe. I don't know exactly what you should get, but I would expect at least 20-25Deg at say 3000 rpm, if not more. TSR or someone here might know where you can get the advance curves.
    If you get no data, I'll go and check mine and see what it does. It's not new, but it's never been messed with.
    The three wires are just for the sender. They've got nothing to do with ign advance - that's all mechanical on a mk1.