Scott’s of Sloane Square

Discussion in 'Say 'hello' in here.' started by Matthew Guitar, Jul 4, 2019.

1. Matthew Guitar New Member

i was just browsing the site when I saw some posts about Scott’s. I worked there from late 84 to 89 and it’s still the best job I’ve ever had. I was a salesman then showroom manager. I was quite young and always had a Golf GTi (jade green was my last one) and ran in the MD,s Quattro in the days you couldn’t give them away! The staff were wonderful and the company was owned by Dixon’s Paper Mills who also owned a lot of property along Pavillion road. I remember I used to look in the local papers and wonder how anyone could afford 180,000 for a flat in Cadogan Square. If only I knew then what I know now. It really was the place to buy your GTi and we used to wander round to Partridges for our lunch or the Italian sandwich shop
    Across the road. The great and the good all came to our showroom and I had some amazing experiences there. I left to join Normand Mercedes Benz when it was almost a professional position and the staff had been there 10,20 or even 30 years or you had to wait for a death to get a position. Scott’s was the place though. Oh the memories...

Sirguydo, Toyotec, SimonG and 2 others like this.
  2. SimonG Forum Member

My Golf GTI was supplied by Scott's back in '88. Have a feeling that it might have been a demonstrator or similar something. It's all pretty original including plates, tax disc holder and window sticker. I'll upload the odd picture to help bring back the memories.

3. Matthew Guitar New Member

4. Matthew Guitar New Member