serious weight saving.

Discussion in 'Track Prep & Tech' started by lewp91, Feb 9, 2012.

1. lewp91 Forum Member

hey guys just trying to think what else is possible to save weight,

i know you can go replacing parts with lighter composites etc

but what else is there that isnt so common?

i saw a block getting cnc machined all over to lighten it, things like that...
    (im a motorsport student so i've seen alot)

discuss :)

just thought i'd add please talk about road legal and track only modifications too :)

2. A.N. Other Banned after significant club disruption Dec 5th 2

I'll make a start:

Shell dipping
    Brackets out
    Cutting off excessive threads
    Lightweight bolts

3. 3hirty8ight Forum Member

Dynamic weight loss is more interesting, wheels and rotating parts etc.

4. coupechamp Forum Member

lots of things to drill, like wiper arm links, a solid rod turns into a swiss cheese, on mine the front wings along the top are held on by two instead of four bolts, obviously sound deadening, underseal etc like chris said there are numerous brackets, fixings around the car that can be cut, alot of people remove the spare wheel well and have a sheet of metal to cover. You would be surprised how much weight you can loose from the doors, i know it differs on a race car to road car, but perspex instead of glass, all the internals of the doors removed, you could go on and on. Once you get started you will keep finding things to remove or grind or cut. :thumbup:

5. luke w

luke w Forum Junkie

The driver could always do with losing a few pounds in most cases.

6. vw_singh Events Team Paid Member

This one! Loose 20kgs and all your cars will feel quicker :lol:

Gurds

7. lewp91 Forum Member

haha ill be honest i've not seen one i didn't know of yet :p

i think dipping a mk1 might be a bit costly for me in comparison to getting one of those stands (forgot the name) and spending the man power getting it down to bare metal?

8. pascal77uk Paid Member Paid Member