what 1.3 will fit in Mk1 driver

Discussion in '8-valve' started by luke w, Aug 30, 2004.

1. luke w

luke w Forum Junkie

The engine in my Mk1 driver gave up a while ago and has been left in my garage. I want to get it back on the road and need to know what other 1.3 engine will fit, as finding a Mk1 driver in the scrapyards with a complete engine is rather hard. Any help would be appreciated

2. Guests Banned

polo 1.3, mk2 golf 1.3

dont know any others as im not a vw expert.

3. dubleon Forum Member

g40 ;) What gave up on your current 1300?

4. Unknown Forum Junkie

pretty much all of them... mk2 and mk3 polo motors are dirt cheap and have hydraulic tappets, electronic ignition (easy spotted as they have 3 bolts holding the rocker cover down not 8 in your earlier car) and possibly a 5 speed! you'll need to swap the water manifold on the rear of the block from you old engine as well as the thermostat housing so all the pipes and sensors match up. the extra wiring for the choke heater and manfiold heater is easy done (though I forget now) unless you want to run it on th old carb and save efort (IIRC the manifolds swap directly) The electronic ignition is simple to make work, just nick the THI-H unit from th donor car and the small loom that attatches it to the coil/live/earth. Although the 5 speed never made it into the A1 chassis you can make a mount for the nearside chassis leg quite simply if you fancy the extra gear (I ran without, but woulnd advise it) Exhaust and everything else matches up a treat.

(edited for spelling)
    Edited by: Unknown

5. flusted Forum Member

I might be wrong but i think the 1400 engine from a seat ibiza fits

6. Unknown Forum Junkie

I guess its a similar motor to the 1.4 6N polo, so I spose its not tricky.... My knowledge of polos ends at the mk3 I'm afraid (aside from where the oil goes)

7. luke w

luke w Forum Junkie