’Valver Noob Questions...

Discussion in 'Engines' started by sinisterdexter, Nov 28, 2005.

1. sinisterdexter Forum Member

Hi All,

Finally bought myself a new ride after 2 fruitless months of looking at mk3 VR6s and Corrados, and it's a gorgeous Oak-Green mk2 16-valver. Shame it's got 5 doors but hey, 5-doors is practical, particularly if you have family or friends (I have neither but I live in hope...)

Anyhoo, I'm new to this more-than-eight-valves business and so unsure of what to expect regarding performance, economy and reliability. The out-going ride was a 1.8 PB digi 8-valver, easily capable of 38-40mpg on a long cruise, capable of putting many a young pretender in its place and, thanks to some sage advice from The True Christ, never missed a single beat (the blue CTS needed changing when I first bought the car). What should I expect from the 'valver? I'm really hoping for similar economy as (a) I try not to drive like a tw4t (although probably will for a couple of weeks until the 16v novelty wears off), and (b) I know the KR isn't suited to plain old 95 oktan juice - and the good stuff isn't cheap at around 1/Litre.

Moving on, what are the KR lumps like for reliability? What seem to be the most common failings and what can I do to try make sure it runs at its best? I've noticed there is some sort of induction kit fitted (Pipercross?) although I'm skeptical about these things and the roar under acceleration will probably get boring fairly soon. Any thoughts on these induction kits? Doesn't look like its making any attempt to channel in nice cold air from anywhere - probably more likely to be sucking up hot air from the engine bay... Anyway the previous owner was decent enough to keep the original airbox safe so I think it'll go back on with a K&N panel fitted.

Any help and input most appreciated, DEX

PS Anyone wanna buy a '91 8-valver? Burnley UK area if anyone's interested...

2. miggs2002 Forum Member