16v inter cam timing??

Discussion in '16-valve' started by Hotgolf, Apr 14, 2005.

1. Hotgolf

Hotgolf Paid Member Paid Member

Righty, got myself some 300 degree 16v cams and basically need to know how to time them into each other.
    I've bought some adjustable chain pulleys but need to knw how to set up the cams to each other before I go getting it on the rollers to have the timing set up on the vernier.

I remember reading that you use 2 DTI's and a degree disk and it can be mocked up in a spare head on the bench.
    I have all the necessary info about the cams, i.e. intake/exhaust timing at 0 lift and at 50thou lift and the LDA etc.

Someone gotta know, as google has failed to turn up anything [:^(]

2. stevef Forum Member

I am no expert - as my ideas will surely point out - but on a VW 16v I would have thought that a vernier cam belt pulley to adjust the exhaust timing and one vernier chain pulley would be needed to adjust the inlet and inter-cam timing correctly. I can't see the point in two adjustable chain gears?

I would adjust the exhaust cam to listed specs then the inlet with the exhaust cam fixed in its timed position.

Does that help or am I an idiot for having an opinion?

3. GVK

GVK Paid Member Paid Member

Mart, when I tried the Schricks in mine, Vince said to set them up properly the head would need to be 'on the bench' using a method similar to what you're written in your post, I presume..

Only thought that I have is that these cars with big cams that have a smooth idle and good torque/power figures, must have these internal adjustable cam gear(s), to reduce the overlap of the cams...

4. kevh Forum Member

hi mart . i reckon your gonna need a fair bit of rollin road time to get the best out of them cams . are you going k jet or itb , carbs . paul h

5. ianb Forum Member

Looked into these myself

Best bet would be TB's plus the solid lifter head to make best use.