B247 DUK - 1985 5 door 8v GTI

Discussion in 'Members Gallery' started by lima the rest, Feb 19, 2024.

1. lima the rest Paid Member Paid Member

Hello and good evening!

I've been a long time lurker, and have wanted a Mk2 for a long time. I currently live in Modena, Italy where I work as a engine development engineer, but I've been planning to move back to the UK within the next few months.

I sent the facebook marketplace listing of this car to a good friend from Formula Student university days in Scotland, after all what better way of staying in touch with old friends is there than sending links to tat online... He responded by saying he was sourcing a trailer and driving down to Kendal to collect it for me. Hence, as of yesterday around 10am, I am (finally) the owner of a Mk2 Golf. He also owns a Mk2, a black VR6 converted Driver that needs a little work.

The seller said he hadn't used the car for some months, but it ran, interior was in decent condition, and it wasn't rusty when he left it up. It apparently had some new ignition parts fitted, new brakes and a new clutch. It was sitting on steels and slammed Vogtland coilovers, and looked a little sorry for itself but he wasn't asking for crazy money, and a quick MOT history check didn't show any huge warnings of corrosion.

Unfortunately after sitting for some time it didnt want to start when my pal arrived, and the interior had begun to go mouldy. There was some rust on the sills near the jacking points, but it doesn't seem to be too awful. After some bartering on the phone, I essentially bought the car blind minus some whatsapp photos and my pals evaluation. He then proceeded to construct a set of ramps out of scaffold boards and got her loaded up without a winch. I owe him a few days work when I get back, doing up his workshop. Once the insulation is in he said I can leave her inside to dry out, and begin trying to get her road ready.