Clifford Concept 300 or Toad ai606?

Discussion in 'Security' started by monkeyzoo, Dec 5, 2009.

1. monkeyzoo Forum Member

I just got a new car. It came fitted with Clifford Concept 300. I've heared good things about Clifford alarm/immobilisors but I've no personal experience with them. Can stick with it and figure it out (could do with some new fobs) or swap it out for the Toad ai606 I have in my old golf. Thoughts please!

2. DC75

DC75 Forum Member

i only ever hear bad things about clifford alarms, my security bloke hates them and will only fit one if the owner insists, sticking with what you know is usually best so i would go for the toad, got cobra cat 1 alarms on my cars, they do the job.

3. TROUBLESTARTER Forum Member

cliffords are absolutely fine i have been fitting them for 15 years
    all i will say is does the alarm have a glass mounted aerial on the windscreen
    if it does not then you may find that eventually the aerial will stop working you will know this is happening when you struggle to arm or disarm the alarm
    even so if this happens clifford will replace and program a newer aerial for it free of charge
    but this does involve sending the alarm brain and the remotes to clifford to do so
    90% of problems with cliffords is down to user error or poor fitting in the first place

4. monkeyzoo Forum Member

Cheers fella. I thought they were pretty popular but I guess that doesn't mean they're any good.

Anyone got any more opinions?

5. monkeyzoo Forum Member

Sending stuff to Clifford (free or not) seems a right PITA considering the car would be uninsured for the time while the alarm isn't fitted.

6. TROUBLESTARTER Forum Member

it would only be not insured if you told your insurance company and the reprorgamming for the alarm is a 2 weekturn around
    again as for people saying cliffords are rubbish thats a personal opinion