Clutch Questions, Mk2 VR6 Conversion.

Discussion in 'VR5, VR6 & Wx' started by mattingg, Oct 4, 2004.

1. mattingg Forum Member

A few questions about the clutch, I'm converting to Corrado VR6, have everything except the Clutch Master Cylinder at the moment, and haven't a clue how this goes...

Can you guys tell me what setup you used on your VR6 conversions?

I have the Corrado pedal cluster, not sure what the setup is on a Corrado VR6, does the Clutch MC has its own reservoir, or does it feed off the brake reservoir some how?

I've seen a VR6 reservior with two extra outlets, is this for the clutch, don't know if this was a corrado, golf or passat one, though, don't know if they have different setups or not. I know the golf pedal box needs to be modified to fit though.

If it feeds off the VR6 Brake reservior then do I need the Brake MC as well? I have a new 16v Master Cylinder, so don't really want to have to replace it.

Last but not least, do I need anything extra, like linkages to the pedal or something? Realise I'll need to get a brake line to the gearbox (Have that end of things) Does it screw straight up to the pedal box, if so, do I need to cut a big hole through the bulk head to attach, as it seems to have a bevel where it should go, and will net fit flat.

Hope you can help, its starting to bug me, I've been trying to find some decent photo's of the setup from the internet without success, any photos/diagrams you can point me in the direction of would be most appreciated.

2. Andy947 Forum Addict

Use the corrado pedal box - it fits striaght in - you need to modify the bulkhead a bit where the clutch cylinder fots it needs to be flattened and holes drilled for the cylinder - then it bolts up.

The brake reservoir has a take off for the clutch and its fed by a small pipe.

Go to a scrappy and have a look at any 90 ish passat (normall loads in scrapies) they use the same setup - and you can get any bits from them.

3. mattingg Forum Member