Corrado r32 running Emerald, what is required to switch to OEM ECU?

Discussion in 'VR5, VR6 & Wx' started by KVW1988, Oct 6, 2023.

1. KVW1988 New Member

Hi,

My R32 corrado is running emerald and has the MK4 engine. It runs quite rough and I want to switch to the OEM ECU and set up for refinement and mpg as I have no interest in going turbo etc.

What would I need to do?

My thoughts are that I would need to switch to the electronic pedal and throttle, install a MAF and swap to the OEM ecu. I'm not sure about any other sensors.

I'm not too technical but manage most things so a detailed explanation would be really helpful.. thanks.

2. PhilRyder

PhilRyder Paid Member Paid Member

I appreciate this doesn’t answer your question but have you taken the car to someone who can tune Emerald and achieve what you are looking for without all the changes?
    Where are you based?

3. KVW1988 New Member

Thanks Phil, I'm in East London. I've been reading around and it seems without the MAF, electronic throttle and O2 sensors etc, it will will never run as good as the standard engine management. Emerald want £450 minimum to tune the car, so it seemed a waste of money if it wouldnt achieve much.

4. Mk2daz

Mk2daz Paid Member Paid Member

The Emerald probably just needs setup correctly, they are great little ECUs so I wouldn't part with it just yet.

Which model of Emerald ECU is it?

Last edited: Oct 6, 2023
  5. PhilRyder

PhilRyder Paid Member Paid Member

Give Aaron a call at HT Racing. He is just behind Brands Hatch, has a rolling road and is a genius with all things car.
    Really, it’s not just a case of adding the hardware, you are likely to need quite a bit of loom work too.
    I Megasquirted my 911 and with proper tuning on a rolling road it ran way better than standard. Admittedly it didn’t have an ECU originally but also it didn’t have MAF, just TPS, vacuum, air temp and engine temp.

6. KVW1988 New Member