Golf mk3 GTI Sunroof Problem

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by Bazil, Apr 16, 2007.

1. Bazil Forum Member

Hi all im a newbie and need a bit of help.
    Ive got a 1993 Golf GTI 8v mk3 and im having problems with my sunroof.
    One day it was work fine and the next day it didnt work at all. Ive tried a different sunroof motor and a different sunroof switch but it still isn't working. Can anyone help me?

Thanks

2. Matt82

Matt82 Forum Addict

can you still open it with the winder?

i doubt anyone can help you. if you do a search on here, i dont think there is anyone that fixed it lol

3. Bazil Forum Member

Yes i can still open it manually.

4. Matt82

Matt82 Forum Addict

mine is the same at the mo and its really annoying. was perfect last year but i didnt use it over the winter.

the connector to the motor has about 6 connectors. how does that work? so wierd.

and no one knows what goes on with it.

there are no fuses or relays it seems either

5. a8 tech New Member

You need to make sure you have a good live and earth at the multiplug,you say you can operate via emergency allen key,was it sticking at any point or free.Ill take it that its free so the regulator is ok,try looking at the cog on the reg were the motor gear locates.Also with the motor removed from the reg connect the multi plug and make sure it works electrically.Wierd

6. Bazil Forum Member

I was told it might be a relay but when i was told it was relay 23 i spent about a hour under my dash and didnt find any relay 23.
    I have tried other motors and switches but it still does not work. Ive also taken the motor out and tried running it just to see if the cog would turn not still nothing.
    I really dont no what it is????????

7. Bazil Forum Member

Hi all.
    Ive still got my sunroof problem but today i spent about 3 hours in my car trying to sus out the problem. I found out that the sunroof switch and the motor are working just fine.