GRP/Carbon body panels for road/track use

Discussion in 'Track Prep & Tech' started by dubspy, Sep 16, 2015.

1. dubspy Forum Member

Hi All,

Another question to pick your brains.

My VRT MK3 will be used for a fast road/track car.

The idea was to build a fast road car that would occasionally go on tracks. This is still the case although i have been going/building very track inspired but i do not have space for a trailer etc so needs to be road legal and drive-able on long distances.

My question is i am looking to purchase GRP/Carbon body panels.. so wings, bonnet,doors and boot.

is this suitable for road use? don't want constant air coming through or rattling around as they are not fixed properly, or am i just being stupid? the panels are not just skins and have the frame with them too.

sorry in advance if i am being stupid.. i have no experience with GRP/carbon body panels before..

All opinions and comments welcome..

Thank You in advance

2. HPR

HPR Administrator Admin

3. dubspy Forum Member

Think you missed the question buddy...

I have the car fully sorted. in terms of brakes, suspension, handling etc etc...

I have now been contemplating GRP/carbon Panels so just wanted too see peoples thoughts for road use..

4. Toyotec

Toyotec CGTI Committee - Happy helper at large Admin

^^
    The 'buddy' that replied to you has over 40 years of Motorsports experience and answered accordingly.

When you say the car is 'sorted' have you tested said car on a track to validate?

The only benefit I can see for light weight composite panels would be on the track to offset weight and center and gravity and improve handling.

Cannot see any benefit for crash protection or towards pedestrian vulnerability if the vehicle will be used primarily on a road.

Hope that helped to expand.

5. dubspy Forum Member

There was no offence intended with my reply.. was not questioning the guys experience.. as stated i have next to no experience with regards to the body panels..