K-jet rough on start up - newbie questions!

Discussion in 'K-Jetronic OEM injection' started by peteg40, Sep 15, 2012.

1. peteg40 New Member

Hi - got an 86 golf with an EV engine and whilst i've had Polo G40s, gts golf g60, abf etc- but never k-jet.

Basically, been stood a while and it always cranks, starts and idles awfully but dies. after about the 4th time it starts and chugs a bit but then as it warms it tends to be fine. I've run it with the 5th injector off and it just wont start when cold.

Any ideas of what to check? i'm new to k-jet so sorry in advance of stupid questions!!!!

I've replaced all ignition parts - plugs, dizzy cap, arm, leads etc by the way

thanks in advance pete.

2. Lhasa2008 CGTI Regional Host

If it's ok once warmed up, then from experience I'd say check the warm up regulator (mounted on the front of the block) :thumbup:

..then then the metering head..then rust in the fuel..then.... Oh the joys of k-jet! ;)

Last edited: Sep 15, 2012
  3. Collie Forum Junkie

i love kjet!! sorry but my kjet was awesome compared to my digis!!!

how does it react if you start it and hold say 1200rpm?

4. TimmyTurtle New Member

My Mk1 does something like this, starts well but dies about 4 times in a row,then rough idle for 30 secs then fine. The only things i havent swapped or replaced are the fuel pump and accumulator. Fuel pressures all read correctly though?.?. Ive given up and just live with it for the amount of miles i do

5. peteg40 New Member

cheers for the comments guys - by the 5th injector i meant the plug on the front of the block - or is that the WUR. I thought the injectors were leaking, it being rich and then it clearing it out when running for a while - but with this unplugged it just wont start at all.

As for trying to run it at 1200 rpm idle not a chance. If its ticking over roughly, then my foot on the gas means it just doesnt pick up at all and cuts out.

6. jamesa Forum Junkie