Lens choice

Discussion in 'Photography - general' started by Rayhoop, Nov 28, 2011.

1. Rayhoop Paid Member Paid Member

Hey guys
    this is probably the most frequently asked question by noobs in the world of photography..

*says in an annoying voice*
    "what lens shall I buy?"

I've searched high and low on line, but am still torn between 3 options...

but before I give you those... my kit and requirements are:

Camera - Canon EOS 500D + kit lens (18-55mm, f3.5-5.6) + tripod + remote

Skill level - Noob photographer - have done a basic course in light, speed, time etc... and have experimented a bit with different combinations for differing effects - but I would still say I'm a noob. Since the basic course - I mainly use the camera in full manual mode.

Requirements - General photography when out and about with the Mrs (i.e. holiday photos). I will be taking photos of large historical sites/buildings from near and a-far, a few landscape shots. I might get roped into taking some casual snaps at my cousins wedding in addition to the pro photographer's photos. I will not be doing sports photography or wildlife photography specifically. Some night time/low light shots. Want something convenient for 'on the move' photography when travelling. If I take a nice enough shot, I might get it enlarged and printed. I do not yet have a flash gun.

So my three options (and thoughts) are:

a) Canon 18-200mm f3.5 - 5.6 new @ approx 380
    I like the idea of a flexible lens, wide angle and a decent telephoto range without having to swap lenses... But I'm not keep on the mediocre reviews and poor clarity when zoomed into a subjet. I'm also a little concerned about the image distortion/ballooning when zoomed fully in/out...

b) Sigma 17-70mm f2.8 - 4.5 new @ approx 300