mk2 2e conversion running issues+vag-com port

Discussion in '8-valve' started by dubmeup, May 19, 2010.

1. dubmeup Forum Member

I moved up from a GL to a GTI with a 2e engine conversion. There are a few issues. Since i've had the car, the revs have stuck at 1100 or so for about 30 seconds when returning to idle. It's then been idling around 800 and the ECU has been trying to up it, as it would. The idle has been lumpy. I'm new to digis so i read up a bit and suspected the AFM and ISV. The AFM has been wound on at some point, sadly i don't know how much. I'd like to restore it to the factory position but need advice on doing that. The ISV seems to be working, when i disconnect it, the car invariably wants to stall. Today i discovered that the Lambda sensor wasn't connected and the connectors were just hanging around in the dirty bits. I've connected it up and made a temporary earth to the coil bolt. Then i did the procedure that i believe resets the ECU. Battery off for half hour, reconnect, ignition on for 15 seconds, key out, key in, fire up. I went for a few miles drive in an effort to get the ecu to learn to use the lambda. The car now seems to be running smoother but now the idle is hanging up at 1400 and eventually goes down to about 1100! The ecu then repeatedly raises it again Strangely, if i reverse before going to idle, it drops down straight away to idle just below 900.
    I've cleaned the breathers, bathed the isv in petrol overnight, checked the one vac pipe, checked the tps wiring, cleaned the throttle body.