New to Club GTI

Discussion in 'Turbocharged, Supercharged or Nitrous !' started by GTI DRAG CAR, Jan 21, 2004.

1. GTI DRAG CAR New Member

Hello everyone!!! My name is Ray, I live in joliet IL. and Im new to the Club GTI forum. Just wanted to introduce myself and also had a few questions for anyone who might care to answer. First, is there a link or site, or does anyone have a list of vendors,manufacturers,and tuner shops that I could look to so I can start the upgrade path for a 2003 GTI? I work in sales at a VW dealership and have been working with the owner of the dealership and advertising manager on building a GTI into a drag car with the dealership sponsoring the car. We are just about to the point where we would like to get things rolling, but first things first, we need to come up with some $ amounts of the initial costs to upgrade the car. for the first season or 2 it will be pretty much just bolt on parts and running stock engine internals, and depending how well this program goes we will eventually build a full on drag car. I have found a few sites online that have a few things that Im looking for, but the more I can find, the more options I have, and well, Im sure you guys know the drill just from upgrading your own cars. Any help is appreciated. And also if anyone knows of any VW clubs or even GTI clubs in Illinois, mainly the chicagoland area. Thanks everyone in advance.

Ray Mejia
    www.Darcymotors.com

2. TheSecondComing Forum Addict

3. MrBen Forum Junkie

Why build a drag car from a FWD hatchback? Surely something V8 and RWD would make more sense?

4. GTI DRAG CAR New Member

Because I sell VW's, the dealership is sponsoring the car, and I have no interest in building a rwd V8.

5. smokesho New Member

yeah, u know what. why not do it. some of the fastest cars in ontario drag racing are FWD compacts pushing nines. there is no repalcement for a 427 done to the max in a GT500, but then again, that is not for everyone.