Sensible mods for a 16v? - track car

Discussion in '16-valve' started by Track-Golf, Dec 1, 2004.

1. Track-Golf New Member

Hi All,

This is only my second post as I'm new to Golf ownership, so please bear with me if I've missed anything obvious on some other part of the forum. I never dreamt Golf ownership would be this complicated?

I posted earlier about the problems I've got with a sick engine so whilst I've got the tools out (and wallet I've no doubt), I was wondering if there are any other mods I should be thinking about.

1. Car's got a 2.0 lump and I'm likely to be swapping the head just now. I've got a spare head (KR I think?) but was wondering if there's any combination I should be specifically looking for (head/lump). I also don't really want to go for high lift cams unless the gains are big?
    What are your thoughts on skimming, porting and polishing? If this is worthwhile, any recommendations for a good job/price in the midlands area?
    And while I'm messing with the engine, are uprated engine mounts worthwhile? If so, any recommendations?

2. It's stipped and caged and used on the track only so what should I be doing with the suspension? Right now it has Koni adjustables and lowered springs. I was thinking front (upper and lower) and rear strut braces. Which one should be a priority if I buy them one at a time and are any of them a waste of time?
    I've heard poly bushes are a good change, any experience or recommendations? Similarly anti-roll bars - any easy/clever swaps I don't know about? Is it worth changing?

3. Breathing - I saw a Golf at Donno last July (might have been one of you!) with a headlight missing and some piperwork into the engine. Anyone know what that's about? If so, is it worth me considering doing? I'm guessing it's a sort of forced cold air induction but not sure how to do it or if there's a kit.

Thanks for all the help, I'm absolutely dying to get it going again and heading out for a blast!

Edited by: Track-Golf