sticking relay....????

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by pigbladder, Nov 6, 2003.

1. pigbladder Forum Addict

i have a power drain problem...ive been over the car and also had an auto electrician check it..cant find a prob

my question is..if a relay was occasionaly sticking would that elec devise be on?

i cant imagine it would..cus theyre all ign on thingys, but say if the hrw relay stuck..would the window be warm all night??

any other batt drain ideas
    Edited by: pigbladder

2. Trev16v

Trev16v Paid Member Paid Member

I've no previous experience with trying to track a battery drain problem on a car. But if I had to, I'd stick an ammeter in series with one of the battery connections and progressively remove various relays, fuses and so on, until I narrow down which particular circuit was causing the current drain.

3. pigbladder Forum Addict

thats what the elcetrician did.he said it was fine. then i tried again when i got home..im not totaly sure how much to expect i mean the alarm,clock, radio memeory use a little...what would be a reasonable amount??

and i cant test with the alarm hooked up cus the window closer cuts in and blows the 10 amp fuse in the multi meter [:s]

4. Trev16v

Trev16v Paid Member Paid Member

One thing I would also try right now is to go out and remove various relays, fuses etc and see if this has any effect in the morning. Just a thought.

If an electrician was actually there having a go and still couldn't find the problem then I'm stumped.

I guess you've eliminated the battery, right.

5. The Other Simon Forum Member

Hi pigbladder,