Sudden loss of spark

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by Jonny81, Nov 21, 2018.

1. Jonny81 New Member

Hey, iv got a mk2 gti 16v with an abf fitted using the kjet system. Iv had it a few months now & has been fantastic until today.

I started it up this morning to move it so I could change the clutch cable to the manual type, did the change over no problem at all. Then when I went to start it it wouldn't. :(

I took a plug out to check for a spark & nothing, iv tested the voltage from the coil & it stays at around 12v with the ignition turned & also when turning over. Iv swapped the coil for a good one & no difference.

I'm positive I didn't damage anything when changing the clutch cable although I probably did disturb a few wires. Iv checked all connections & can't find anything.

I'm still fairly new to these cars & not sure what my next move should be, any advice is really appreciated!

2. rubjonny

rubjonny Administrator Staff Member Admin

Hello and welcome :)

Do you hear the fuel pump priming with ignition and running while its cranking over?

3. Jonny81 New Member

Hi, thanks for helping out, yes to both.

4. Jonny81 New Member

Oh & iv removed the distributor & its fairly oily inside [:s]

5. rubjonny

ok so ecu is powering up, and it is seeing some kind of signal from the hall sensor. oil inside the dizzy means the internal oil seal has failed, good guide here:
    https://clubgti.com/forums/index.php?threads/190271

have a look at the spark module on top of the ecu, and have a general check over of all your wiring loom. the spark module has an earth back to the battery, plus it gets its live from the coil live side, though so does the ecu so if thats powered the spark module probably is too. have a look anyway, you should have a single black from fusebox for power (which is ok as you checked) then a spade with a black and a black/white which are the power feeds for ecu and spark module