THE welding thread!

Discussion in 'Tools, Equipment & Fasteners' started by Admin, Jun 7, 2013.

1. Admin Guest

Here is the place to show off your welding, get advice on your welding and generally talk welding from MIG, TIG, oxyacetylene, spot, arc and we can even include brazing and silver soldering if you want :thumbup:

Here you can share setting, offer tips and advice and generally just discus what works for you :)

Im just starting to TIG weld, self taught and have only done a little here and there, each time I get out there, I get better or learn something new, the other day it was to ensure the work piece is secure! Mine was balanced as I kept need to move it to weld a tub fitting. It moved with the force of the ark and this coursed the ark gape to increase and I instantly blow a hole in the thin metal. :cry:

This weld is possibly my best so far, it's miles off were I want to be but practice makes perfect, I dream of being able to weld like a robot one day! Any advice on this I would gladly accept it and I know my hand needs to be steadier and the heat more consistent! I think my tungsten to weld pool gap it too great at times.

[​IMG]

Lets see those welds!

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 7, 2013
  2. Trev16v

Trev16v Paid Member Paid Member

Well, I'm putting a 16V into a LHD Syncro, so I needed a manifold like the VWM 'Limited' had.

Build thread: http://www.clubgti.com/showthread.php?236232

Not the best TIG welding I'm afraid, but it was my first ever TIG project. (And to be honest having not touched the machine in ages, if I tried to weld again now I'd probably be even worse. I really must get into it again.)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. Admin Guest

I think they are damn good welds for a first project! You look to be getting good heat into them, what does the inside look like? I have been reading up about purging tubing and may have to buy a Y-piece and give it a go at some point!

4. Trev16v