What do you think of this 16V head?

Discussion in '16-valve' started by Trev16v, Feb 4, 2005.

1. Trev16v

Trev16v Paid Member Paid Member

I was going to post this in Recardo's thread, but instead of hijacking with all my pictures here's a separate thread...

I bought a polished / flowed head off eBay quite some time ago. It had been done by an enthusiast chap who claimed to be a valvetrain designer. I've never been quite sure exactly how significantly this head has been worked on as I'm no expert. However, I had it fitted to one of my 16Vs until I took it off recently, and the car was never properly tuned up when it was fitted, but it did seem to go rather well and the engine sound was very nice! Only reason I took the head off is because I want to use it on the block that I'm rebuilding.

If anyone cares to, I'd really be interested in comments about the following pictures I took of the head before it was fitted. I'm just curious about what you guys think of the standard of the work done, etc. I do fully realise that nobody could give tell from pictures how this exactly head would perform.

I'm thinking of taking it to an engine shop before refitting just to get the guides, etc. checked over.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Edited by: Trev16v

2. t_r_d Forum Member

im not an expert, but looking at the inlet ports compared to the other
    thread it looks like they could've been smoothed a bit more and the
    exhaust ports could be rounder:)

3. GVK

GVK Paid Member Paid Member

The finish doesn't look as smooth as my head ( and the one on the car) but that's not always a bad thing where heads are concerned. :)

4. Andy947 Forum Addict

Looks shit :thumbup:

5. Tubthumped Forum Junkie

6. vrbanana Forum Junkie

rough job:thumbd:

7. stephcasscar Paid Member Paid Member