Won’t Start (what can i do)

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by Coxy, Dec 30, 2003.

1. Coxy New Member

Hello chaps im a newbie to forums but i thought i would see if i could get some pearls of wisedom from you lot on a problem i'm haveing with my Mk 1 Golf GTI.
    It died at a petrol station the before Xmas. After almost running the battery flat trying to start it i gave up and tryed to get a toe just as i had got that arranged it started with 1 last turn of the key. once home i sorted out some new plugs and leads from GSF (as they were old and knackered and on my list of bits i needed) so i went to start the car to go and get tham and it was dead again.
    Since then i have asked a few people and tryed a few things i have put new leads, plugs, distrubutor cap, rotor arm, coil and ignition module on but still all it dose is turn over but not fire.
    I can smell petrol when i try to start it
    I can hear the fule pump going
    so it seems to be getting fule
    The oil looks OK (not grey)
    I have tryed taking off the air filter to get more air in and that made no differance
    so it must be getting air
    so my thinking is that it must be electrical but maybe it is a fule injection thing. I dont know anything about fuleing thou.
    i was hopeing that some Golf heads would be able to sugest some thing for me to reserect my little Hun mobile.
    Any sugestions would be appreciated
    (Not my actual car) [​IMG]

2. Rustynuts Forum Member

I would guess that it could be the metering head that has given up the ghost from what you have said, although I am no fuel systems expert.

3. Coxy New Member

don't want to sound stupid but what is the metering head, what dose it look like and where is it?

P.S. cheers for replying

4. Scuttle New Member

Whenever my Mk1('83) used to die it was always the fuel pump relay. I can't remember whether the fuel pump still ran though, be worth checking though if you know someone with a working one.