Yet another upgraded loom question!

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by stimpy, Dec 11, 2004.

1. stimpy

stimpy Forum Member

Just when you thought everything had been covered! ;)

Okay, so I've read the very good guides at Matey-matey and the Daniel Stern lighting sites, and I understand the principles, and I've got my shopping list ready to visit Maplin next week...

...but I've never done anything like this before, so I just need a bit more help on which bits to buy.

Specifically:

Relays - I thought there were two main types, either for PCB mounting, or plug-in ones. So presumably I want plug-in ones, but what do I plug them into, can I buy little single blocks for them that clip together? Thought so, but can't find them anywhere...

Fuse - From what I've read it sounds like you just use a normal blade fuse - again, what does this plug into - can you just get in-line fuse holders for blade fuses? (can't see them on Maplin website, although I think RS Components might do them in bulk?).

Also, Matey-matey suggest a 20A fuse, but if I'm doing both the headlights and inner-spots then won't I need a higher rated fuse?

Sorry if these seem like/are stupid questions - elecrical stuff is definitely my weakest spot, but I'm learning [:$]

2. fthaimike Forum Addict

I thought it was only the main outer lights you uprate as i had done?

3. stimpy

stimpy Forum Member

Oh, maybe it is then! Like I say, I'm a bit of a newbie at this [:$]

I just kind of thought that the inners would suffer from the same problem, and although my inners are pretty bright already if I was doing one lot of wiring I might as well do the other (every little helps!). Maybe they don't have such a long run of cable though? Will have a look in the daylight...

4. alby Forum Junkie

i use one 30amp fused relay for hi beam and one for low beam.

you can get the relays from halfrauds for 7 quid.the fuse holder is built into the relay(no need for an inline fuse).