What could be done to improve performance on mk1 gti?

Discussion in '8-valve' started by Dub 6N2, Nov 6, 2011.

1. Dub 6N2 Forum Member

Malta (little island in the Mediterenian)
    Hi I have just bought a golf mk1 GTI and I have a couple of questions to ask please. Sorry if they might be stupid but I am no expert [:[]

So the engine is a 1.8 8v, has some mods to it like twin weber 42s, fast road cam, vernier pulley and 4-1 manifold.

-The engine code is GX whilst I thought that the europeans came with a DX engine...what type of engine is the GX then and where is it usually used?

-What other types of mods can I make to better improve the engine performance that wouldn't break the bank?

Where is the temperature sensor located on the engine because the temp gauge is not working?

[​IMG]

2. Dub 6N2 Forum Member

one more thing please :)

this is my cam spec sheet, can anyone tell me what the duration for the inlet and exhaust are please

[​IMG]

3. Bundles Forum Junkie

GX engine code is the 90bhp carb engine out of a 1.8 driver or scirocco scala etc, has a lower compression ratio and only 38mm inlet valves instead of the GTis 40mm if i remember correctly. [:^(]

So, simple way to get more go is to put a proper GTi engine in it. :)

4. skoda4x4 Forum Member

20v turbo is the way to go

5. Dub 6N2 Forum Member

thanks for the reply Bundles, if the GX used carb then the previous owner must have changed the head because it still has the injectors in it though it's using webers...these are photos of the block and head codes...

HEAD
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

BLOCK
    [​IMG]

@skoda4x4 ... yeah sure, when I get my full time job maybe :p

6. mitlom

mitlom Forum Member